Bangladesh beat India to win historic Women’s T20 Asia Cup

द्वारा : सुदुर न्युज

10th June 2018, New Delhi.

Bangladesh beat six-time champions India by three wickets to lift their maiden Asia Cup title at the Kinrara Stadium in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday.

India, who had lifted the title on all six occasions since the inception of the tournament in 2004, were aiming to lift a seventh title in Malaysia but the Indian batting line-up, barring captain Harmanpreet Kaur, failed to live up to their billing and managed to put only 112 runs on board.

Despite being given just 113 runs to defend, Indian bowlers did a good job, taking the match right to the last ball but the batswomen completely failed them. Harmanpreet Kaur bowled a fine last over, attempting to take India to victory like he handled alone with the bat but it was not to be.

2 runs in the last over, courtesy as bad throw, meant Bangladesh lift the trophy at the Kinrara Stadium.

It is a historic victory for Bangladesh as they not only lift their maiden title but beat India twice this tournament and India were undefeated in Asia Cup prior to this year.

With hardly any pressure of the scoreboard, Bangladesh openers began on positive note, stitching a 35-run partnership.

Shikha Pandey was out injured out in the second over itself when she injured herself trying to save a run on her follow-through. She jarred her knee against the turf and Deepti Sharma had to be called into the attack to complete the over.

In the 7th over, it was Poonam Yadav’s double strike that sent back the Bangladesh openers on back-to-back deliveries.

Nigar Sultana came in and her masterful 24-ball 27 steadied the Bangladesh chase, as Harmanpreet kept looking around for bowlers.


सम्बन्धित् समाचारहरु

टिप्पणी गर्नुहोस

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy